Item added to your cart.

Spektrum 3
Various Artists
Catalogue Number
Release Date
August 13, 2021

Another year has passed, and so it’s time for the latest installment in TAU’s huge compilation series, Spektrum. The Adana Twins have been collecting and curating hot new productions from a variety of sources, new and more established, compiling a V/A that distills that ineffable TAU sound into 16 diverse cuts. A few familiar names are representing alongside some fresh faces, introducing new talent as we do with each Spektrum release. With this special release you’ll receive the Spektrum zine, a printed publication with features on all of the artists who’ve contributed to this release. As a record label it’s our intention to innovate and entertain our supporters with creative treats and alternate ways of reppin’ our artists and music. We hope you enjoy it, and we’re sure this Spektrum release will keep you rocking, whether you’re at home or on the dance floor...

Spektrum 3 opens with a sombre, hypnotic trip produced by TAU family member Echonomist with Mehill. ‘Phase’ moves at a steady pace, not too im- posing but with the right amount of propulsive energy to get you moving. A great way to kick off the compilation. Next we have ‘Neuro’ by Hadiid, a simmering atmosphere guides us into a simple, jauty melody. Hadiid juxtaposes downcast vibes with the upbeat riff to great effect. As the track progresses, he increases the cut’s dramatic impact with layers of electrifying synth, culminating in a killer breakdown. This is followed by ‘Smile’, a track that lives up to its positive title with bouncy, happy energy. Aaron uses a pitched down vocal clip to emphasise the track title, creating an unorthodox cut with unusual percussive elements and arrangement. The first quarter of the 16-track collection is rounded up with Aldebaran’s ‘Colle Stelle’ (Italian for ‘with the stars’). As you may expect with that title, this cut is bright and optimistic with a funky rhythm and rising synth lines that encourage you to raise your hands up to the sky and celebrate life. Aldebaran incorporates uplifting riffs and the progression of this track is particularly immersive. A life-affirming journey from start to end.

Alex Medina steps up next with ‘Lobos’, a rugged cut surrounded by a mysterious aura. Thumping beats and a shamanic shaker take us deep into the rainforest. A mesmerising wind instrument pops up, adding to the exotic atmosphere. In the breakdown, an indie-esque vocal appears, before we’re transported back to a transamazonian visionquest. Next up Pergola takes us deep with a subdued composition called ‘Eterea’. The warm, round low end is complemented by crisp beats and a smooth atmosphere that envelops the listener. Within this space Pergola places additional sounds and effects to maintain the depth and absorbing nature of this stirring cut, picking up the pace in the latter part. Then we have Cabaret Nocturne with ‘Afterlife’, which features Eleonora on vocals. A percolating bassline acts as the foundation for Eleonora’s wistful spoken word. Her lyrics tell the story of her experience in the afterlife and the questions she asks while she’s there. Meanwhile, the instrumental goes through peaks and troughs, sparking head nodding and two-stepping in abundance. Then it’s TAU regular Mr Biesmans, who drops ‘Space Echoes’, a groaning cut that taps deep into your emotional centre. A highly affecting riff teams up with the morose low end to create a compelling track with enough rhythm to get the dance floor pumped. Wait for the final part of this cut where Biesmans demonstrates his production prowess with an energising last flurry.

Halfway through the comp and we’re greeted by the boys themselves, Adana Twins. Their high-impact cut, ‘Nordlys’, is like a fuel injection with its slamming beats and claps. Blending retro elements with a futuristic outlook, this track epitomises what Adana Twins are all about, channeling the past through a contemporary lens. An emotive melody soon appears and we’re elevated into a new musical realm. DC Salas follows up with a moody cut called ‘Solar Walk’, which evolves and progresses gracefully. Salas combines punchy beats with heartrending atmospherics and various layers of synth to create depth and suck you into his electronic universe. Get ready for the squelchy switch up midway through. Next up it’s EdOne with ‘I Ever Was A Breaker’... this one goes all in with the emotionally charged atmosphere; a sweet vocal clip with heartfelt strings means this one cuts deep. Holger Zilske takes us into the electro zone with his chunky workout full of 808 space funk entitled ‘Manipulation’. Dense beats and basslines combine with intergalactic pads and an indecipherable vocal clip, serious electro vibes for the dance floor.

Moving into the last quarter we arrive at the Adana Twins 2021 edit of ‘Werkzeuge Eines Fernen Willens’ by Time Modem. This is another high-energy cut with just the right balance of heavy drum programming, vintage synth work and uplifting production. Adana Twins do a superb job of adding their own unique sound to this almighty track. Then we have the Wirski 1991 Mix of ‘Iskat Tibia’ by Gloom. This is a stunning cut with huge dance floor appeal, bringing that big room, new wave sound to the compilation in emphatic style. Prepare for a singalong (even if you don’t know the words) with your hands in the air. Yubik’s ‘Walking State’ is the penultimate track, bringing us back down for a seemingly more mellow ride to the end of the compilation. It begins with a sombre outlook, leading into a more brazen arrangement and eventually becoming an all out heartwarming club cut. Finally, we have the closer – Quadratschulz with ‘Mobilis In Mobili’, a voyage into deep space with cosmic bleeps and an electro-fied composition that tells a story. It’s the perfect balance of joy and sorrow, giving us time to reflect as the compilation reaches its final conclusion...

And there it is, Spektrum 3, a comprehensive representation of where TAU stands right now and where the label is going. Grab your magazine, start reading and hit the play button for an adventure on Planet TAU.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 Phase Echonomist, Mehill 7:09 Buy


  2. 2 Neuro Hadiid 6:09 Buy


  3. 3 Smile Aaaron 7:20 Buy


  4. 4 Colle Stelle Aldebaran 8:14 Buy

    Colle Stelle

  5. 5 Lobos Alex Medina 7:46 Buy


  6. 6 Eterea Pergola 6:07 Buy


  7. 7 Afterlife Cabaret Nocturne featuring Eleonora 7:10 Buy


  8. 8 Space Echoes Biesmans 6:52 Buy

    Space Echoes

  9. 9 Nordlys Adana Twins 7:18 Buy


  10. 10 Solar Walk DC Salas 7:51 Buy

    Solar Walk

Show All Tracks 16
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences